The Start of the Winter CSA

Yesterday was the first day of the Winter CSA.  I excitedly, and a bit nervously, picked it up and brought it home.  Picking up this box means that I now have a hefty goal upon my shoulders: to use up and learn to cook with ALL the contents of this box.

Here’s what I found:  The first half was a bushel of parsley, a bag of turnip greens, an acorn squash, 2 baby bok choy, and a garlic bulb hiding behind the squash.

The rest of the box holds 4 leek shoots, and a variety of potatoes, carrots, onions and beets.

To help me learn how to use all of these veggies and to help track the good recipes I find, I’ll be using the ingredient page that I made once upon a time under the Real Foods Page.  For dinner last night, I used the leeks and made a chicken and leek cheese bake.  YUMMY!  I ate over half of it myself.  I’ll get the recipe up soon.  And of course, update the ingredients page eventually.  🙂  Big dreams but only so much time in a day, right?  In the mean time, I got to go to work.

2 Comments

Filed under Housewife, Ithaca

2 responses to “The Start of the Winter CSA

  1. Julie

    MMM! One of my favorites is a Potato and leek soup! Yummy 🙂

  2. Natalia

    Is that from Full Plate? LOVE their CSA, we did it this summer and it was awesome. We’re not doing it in the winter because we’ll be gone, and I’m so sad..

Leave a Reply

