First Step to Organized

I have been inspired lately to make some changes by my ever increasing frustration at my inability to maintain an organized and clean home.  Catching up on my blog reading, one post in particular caught my eye.  It’s from a good friend back in college, Kelli Lund, and her recent post A House of Order.  I loved the simplicity of the idea to list the chores and spread them out.  But I was feeling the need for something more.

Yes, I am that lazy.  I wanted someone to tell me exactly what to do and how to do it.  I didn’t want to take the time to make my own list.  What if I forgot something?  How often do I need to clean this or that?  How do I fit this around my sporadic work schedule?

What to do?  Buy a book!  I sat at Borders and looked through all their books.  This one was my favorite.  Not only does it have a reasonable price, $15, its pages were simple and not cluttered with information and tips.  It is applicable for a disaster house, or just a messy house, like mine.  It works with kids, or without.  Whatever it was that gave me the feeling, “This is the book,”  I now am committed and am going to work my way through it.  I plan on writing down my steps and progress and hope it helps any of you out there looking for more tips.  Her website is here.

First Steps:

1.  Shine the kitchen sink
2. Get dressed and put on your shoes
3. Hair, makeup, accessories, ect.
4. Decent bedtime with plenty of rest

Having written that down.  I am off to deep clean and scrub the kitchen sink, I am already dressed and done up for the day.  I need to find a pair of shoes I can wear around the house (sounds odd but thousands of women who have tried it, swear by it.  I guess its worth a shot.  The theory behind it is that it makes you feel like you’re more ready for the day.  Better than pajamas, sweats, or slippers, I guess.)

3 Comments

Filed under Housewife

3 responses to “First Step to Organized

  1. Sara

    I love the Fly Lady! I am sure you will too. It sounds like you already do! Good luck!

  2. Teandra

    She also has a web site flylady.net. I used to follow it when we lived in our apartment

  3. I do not think you are lazy, we all have our different approaches to cleaning. : )

Leave a Reply

