The Organ Apprentice

The BYU Carillon stands as one of the landmark...

Image via Wikipedia

A Post from our Utah trip this past June/July!  (Computer problems delayed my ability to share.  You’ll get a few more of these.)

While in Utah, we visited our good friend, Zhenya, who is getting an MA in Organ performance at BYU.  She’s the one who gave us the bell tower tour in 2008.   Here’s a video of her playing:

I’m sorry!  I memorized the song title so that I could list it here in the post… but that was over 2 months ago and it is no longer available for recall, apparently.  But as you can witness yourself, she is AMAZING!

Then, she had me play a song.  I’ve never played the organ before so of course, I picked a harder song to play (hindsight would have been helpful in advance so that I could have picked an easier song.  Oh well!  It is one of my favorites!)  The song is A Poor Wayfaring Man of Grief from the LDS hymn book.  Enjoy my debut!

I’d like to learn to play the organ.  It’s on my someday list.  Kind of requires access to a piano to at least practice that much… which I don’t have for the time being.  Works out well since I already have loaded myself up on enough “projects” of things that I want to learn.  Anything new, like the organ, is going to have to be put on the waiting list.  Life is too short not to live simply.

4 Comments

Filed under Education

4 responses to “The Organ Apprentice

  1. Good job, Bybee! I can’t get the first video to work though. It says it’s a private video and I need to add her as a friend to view it…or something like that. But, heck, I’m sure it’s cool anyway. 🙂

  2. karen

    You make your mama and papa proud!

  3. Hey…some day I will play the organ as well. Maybe we could learn together.

    Ha.

    Ha.

    Ok. I’ll probably never learn to play the organ so you’ll have to do it alone.

    : )

  4. Teandra

    My sister-in-law went to the BYU Organ camp this summer. She’s very good!

Leave a Reply

