Work or Rest

Food for Thought question.

Inspired by some answers I got from my co-workers of what they would do with a million dollars, a new question has popped into my head.  If you had enough money that you not only didn’t NEED to work, but had enough money for most of your wants, too, what would you do with your job? Would you keep it?  Would you cut back hours?  Would you quit and do hobbies all day?  Would you get a different job – maybe pursue your dream of being a rock star?  Or maybe go back to school?

I think I would become a job junkie.  Meaning, that I would hop from job to job and learn all sorts of things.  I’d start off with culinary school.  Graduate… maybe work in that field for a year or two.  Then go back to school and get a PhD in Chinese.   Maybe teach a bit after graduation.  Then, get another degree and get a job in food science and develop my own natural version of Mountain Dew to act as an all-natural headache-be-gone formula.  (Just got done with another migraine so its definitely on my mind right now).   Who knows how many different degrees/jobs I would come up with but if money wasn’t an issue… WHY NOT???  I mean, I have a whole list of things I’d like to do.  Some, even Xan has shown interest in doing someday.

Sometimes we talk about opening a pet store.  I think we would be really good at it.  Down side?  Well, we’d have a really hard time selling pets to people who don’t know how to take care of them.   Too many people buy pets before doing their research.  How many puppies get abandoned because their owners didn’t realize their cute little puppy turns into a BIG dog.  How many reptiles get let loose because owners don’t realize the size they can reach?  How many pets die because owners aren’t willing to spend the money to make sure their pet’s home is large enough (tanks, cages, ect.)  Not really sure we could do it.

He also has caught on to my Bed and Breakfast idea.  I’ve wanted to open a Bed and Breakfast for a couple years now.  (You know, the kind that sounds FANTASTIC in your head but you know in reality its a lot more work than you would realistically like but dreaming is way too fun…)  He started thinking of how fun it would be to have aquarium themed rooms.  Awesome idea, right?  We could have a Pacific room with a large tank lining one wall with all sorts of Pacific fish and coral.  A jellyfish room with a few columns of jellyfish tanks.  An Amazon room with a few different kinds of our Poison Dart Frogs…  We could have a pavilion out in the back inside an aviary with all different kinds of birds with the option of eating breakfast out there…  And hey!  If we weren’t worried about money, we could hire people to do a lot of the dirty work.  🙂

Yes… I think being a job junkie is kind of my dream.

1 Comment

Filed under Food for Thought

One response to “Work or Rest

  1. Kressyda

    Hey! Let’s open a B&B together. Cameron and I have always thought that would be fun. I’ve been trying to get Beth in on the idea for a couple of years. You, Beth, and Cameron can cook. I’ll clean. And Xan can decorate! Perfect :).

Leave a Reply

