Something I Never Thought I Would Actually Say Seriously…

Math and science were never fortes of mine.  Anyone who ever saw me suffer through one of these classes can attest to this fact.  I’m the sort of gal who voluntarily dropped high school chemistry for an art class my senior year.  Sad… but true.  I avoided it at all costs.

And that is why I thought I would never say the following …  I’m going to learn math and science by my own free will and through self-teaching and lots of tutoring from my rocket scientist of a husband.   Specifically, I need to learn nutrition, calculus, statistics, organic chemistry, molecular biology…. the list continues but I’m going to stop there.

You see, I’ve come to a decision.  You know, those things that I come up with frequently only to change my mind on a later day.  I want to learn food science.  I want to know the whole processes in what goes into food, why it goes into food, and what it does to food and people, and all sorts of other things.

So, I’ve pulled out some of Xan’s textbooks.  I have a physics textbook that I’ve gotten almost half way through chapter one… and a calculus textbook  that I had to put back once realizing that the algebra review it contains was no where near basic enough for me.  I have to start all the way in Algebra.

Xan has been pretty supportive the last few days of serious study.  Want to know what we did for our 2 year anniversary?  He helped walk me through his textbooks to show me what chapters were equivalent to which college science/math course.  The next day, he helped me come up with an equation to figure out how many times one mole of him would travel around the circumference of the Earth.  (It was to help me understand just how small atoms are).

Here’s what I learned.  One mole of water is about 1 tbsp.  Pretty small right?  Well, One mole of Xan would travel around the circumference of the Earth 2.56 x 10^17 times, or in other words, 25,600,000,000,000,000,000 times!  That’s HUGE!

Leave a comment

Filed under Education

Leave a Reply

