Why must I make cake?

I don’t like cake. I was a picky cake eater when I was a little girl. For example, by my 12th birthday, the only cake that I would eat was yellow cake with chocolate frosting. By the time I was 16, I just gave it up all together. It simply always made me feel nauseaus after eating. Too sugary and spongy.

I decided the other day that I was going to have to start baking again since I can’t buy pre-made sweets and goodies due to the artificial ingredients involved. What was the first thing I was determined to make??? CAKE! Seriously? I don’t even like cake. Why did I want to make cake.

Well, I made a cake today. I’d like to say that I made a fabulous cake. I’d like to think that I was a good cook. Sadly, as I’m discovering more often than not in the kitchen, talented cooking comes with practice. A LOT OF PRACTICE. Baking comes with an infinite amount of practice. It calls for exactness and precision. Two things that ARE NOT my forte.

The results? Only one of my two cakes turned out decent. The other cake was thrown away. And now I sit here, still not a big fan of cake, yet still feeling determined to make a fantastic cake.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

