I enjoy my job but…

I enjoy my work. I currently work 32 hours at Wegmans, a family-owned New England based grocery store, in the international department stocking shelves. The work really agrees with my ADHD hyperfocus. I get to stock shelves. I’m active all day. My arms are strong. Not super buff… I’d probably loose arm wrestles… but much stronger than they’ve ever been before. I have a lot of friends there. I like all the people that I work with and get along with them.

Where does the but come in?

CUSTOMERS!

Don’t get me wrong. I get a HUGE sense of acheivement answering their questions of where items are located. Seems trite and insignificant, but it feels good to be able to answer questions like, “Excuse me, do you know where I could find the rose water?” with “Why, yes, I do! We have two kinds. Would you like the French brand or Indian? Let me show you where to find them.” What can I say… I am a sucker for customer service.

What annoys me are the lectures. I get blamed and lectured on the sodium content, organic foods, national food shortages, price inflations, ect. I promise you that I did not personally flood the pumpkin patches in the midwest this past fall to ruin all the pumpkin crops that caused the pumpkin pie shortage mix to ruin your holidays. And no, we are not hoarding a stash of Libby’s canned pumpkin pie mix in the back room.

I was once lectured by a 50 or so year-old-man in the cereal aisle on the importance of vitamins in one’s diet. He went through his own life story about how he never had any energy… yadda yadda yadda… until he went to a natural doctor and started taking vitamins and fish oils, ect. Now his life is full of energy and he feels better than he did when he was 20! This lecture lasted over 20 minutes. All I could do was nod and neutrally accept his comments hoping he would finish and let me go back to work. I learned very quickly to not give my own input to these so-called lectures beyond straight facts. My opinions only seem to only aggravate the customers. I guess my opinions on nutrition are not concurrent with the latest trends.

All in all, I’d have to conclude that despite these unwelcome lectures, I feel so lucky to have a job that I enjoy going to 4 days out of the week. In a world with too many boring desk jobs, high work dissatisfaction, and the current unemployment rates, I can overlook the fact that I am working a job that doesn’t require a high school diploma despite my BA degree. But, let’s all cross our fingers that Cornell gets out of their hiring “pause” and I’m able to find a job more fitting to my skills and pays a bit more than minimum wage-ish. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

