New Year’s Resolution

Being the 5th Sunday of the month last week, we had a combined Priesthood and Relief Socity meeting. Xan was recently called to the Elders Quorum Presidency as the 2nd Counselor and taught our lesson. He went over our Stakes recent invitation to make 3 individual or family goals. The first a mission plan, the second a temple goal, and the third a service goal.

First of all, let us just say that we LOVE this whole invitation concept and being able to create out own goals suited to our personal situation. Many times in the past when the Stakes have issued out goals and told us how many times to go to the temple or how many service hours or whatever, its kind of rubbed the both of us the wrong way for different reasons. Xan has his own reasons but mine is because then I don’t feel like it is my goal. I feel like I’m going to the temple once a month because I was told to. Now, these are my personal faults I’m revealing and not a criticism on stake goal giving. Needless to say, Xan and I loved the invitation.

On with Xan’s lesson. He brought up the reason why he doesn’t really like goal making. You see, he looks at goals as useless. Instead, he prefers to think about the person he wants to be. He considers the qualities he wants to have. And then, he tries to simply do those things that will bring him there. I know, it honestly is just a different way of making goals, right? 🙂 But, he invited us all to try to figure out who we want to be before we start making these individual or family goals.

I thought it would be interesting to hear what all of you want to be. Xan would add if he was writing this blog to remember not to comment with goals, like “I want to be someone who gives 6 hours of service a week.” But rather a more untangible, unquantifyable concept of who you want to be. Some people might refer to this concept as your long term goal. I’ll start.

I want to be the type of person who knows good, better, and best in all things but particularly in time management so that I will always be able to get the things that are most important to me done instead of continually getting all the kind-of-important things let alone the completely unimportant things done and never having time for what matters most.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

