Today’s Small Victory

I’ve been struggling here in Ithaca to remember people’s names. Learning hundreds of new names comes with moving to a new place. It was easier in college. I would move to a new apartment and have 3-4 names down by the end of the day. Room mate names are pretty easy to learn since I see them all day and everyday. Frequent house hopping and visiting made it a bit easier to learn the other names in my single’s ward within the first 2-3 weeks of the semester. Learning names in class took a bit longer but I usually would learn 3 or 4 out of each class: those I sat by frequently and studied with together.

Learning names here in Ithaca hasn’t been as convenient. I learn a new name and then don’t see them for the rest of the week. By the time Sunday is back again, all previous name-learning has been erased. It was really getting to me because it is hard to make friends when I am constantly asking, “Remind me of your name again…” It’s worse with some of Xan’s classmates because I see them maybe only once a month.

I realized a small victory today, though. I was substitute teaching in Relief Society for someone who had just had their baby and was able to call on by name all but one of the sisters who raised their hands. A small victory, but I’ll take it!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

